29 September 2015

Top Ten Tuesday: For Fans Of...

This week's TTT is Top Ten Books for fans off (insert popular book here).  I choose...


Wild by Cheryl Strayed

1. The Argonauts by Maggie Nelson:  This book is amazing.  It is Nelson's memoir of her relationship with a transgendered man during transition and the birth of their son.  As a new mother, I found the honesty about motherhood refreshing.
2. Hatchet by Gary Paulsen:  Yeah, it's for kids, but it is the OG survival in the woods story, and it is Ah-mazing.
3. Post Secret books:  Quick coffee table reads with the same confessional tone as Strayed. 
4. The Opposite of Loneliness  by Marina Keegan: These essays by college journalist Keegan, published by her mother posthumously are worth a read.  
5. A Million Little Pieces by James Frey:  Yes, it is the most controversial because it isn't really true memoir ever.  But, it is a hell of a ride, and is a classic of the genre because of the controversy.
6. A Widow's Story by Joyce Carol Oates:  Strayed's memoir is essentially a story of grief, and this memoir is one of the best stories of grief I have read.
7. Fear and Loathing in Las Vegas by Hunter S. Thompson:  Wild is kind of a road trip memoir, and this is a great road trip memoir.
8. Are You My Mother by Alison Bechdel:  A graphic memoir about a mother/daughter relationship.  It isn't as good as Fun Home, but has more in common with Wild.
9. Hyperbole and a Half by Allie Brosh:  This memoir from Brosh's popular web comic addresses issues of mental illness that resonate with Strayed.
10. Jennifer, Gwyneth and Me by Rachel Bertsche: I love Bertsche's voice, and this, her memoir of trying to improve her happiness by emulating the lives of celebrities, has the same type of self-help quality as Strayed's work.

What books remind you of Wild?  What are your favorite memoirs?

No comments:

Post a Comment

I love your comments. Thanks for making me a happy blogger.

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...

Add This

 
Blog Design by Imagination Designs all images from the Travel the World: Europe kit by Studio JMdesigns